About Us

ISEB Board

The Board is made up of Heads from its three Patron Associations:

  • Headmasters' and Headmistresses' Conference (HMC)
  • Independent Association of Prep Schools (IAPS)
  • Girls' Schools Association (GSA)

HMC logoIAPS logoGSA logo

The Board is led by a Chairman, supported by three Vice-Chairmen, one from each of the Associations.

Chairman: Mr Durell Barnes

Durell BarnesDurell Barnes brings to ISEB his extensive experience in the independent school sector and beyond. For over ten years he was Deputy Director and Head of Communications at the Independent Schools Inspectorate where he was responsible for safeguarding and quality assurance, liaising on these matters with the Department for Education, Ofsted, the Independent Schools Council and its member associations, governors, heads, staff, parents, pupil and the press. Prior to this, Durell spent over twenty years teaching in ISC schools, latterly as a Deputy Head in two schools where he led on curriculum, teaching and learning, performance management and appraisal. He has taught A-level history, French, ancient history and English, as well as politics, religious studies, art history and PSHE.

Vice Chairman: Ms Jane Gandee

Jane GandeeJane Gandee is the Headmistress of St Swithun's School in Winchester. Prior to that she was Director of Studies at The City of London School for Girls and Head of Modern Languages at Queenswood School. Jane served on the Board's Academic Committee for Languages and Classics before being elected to her current post as Vice-Chairman representing GSA.

Vice Chairman: Dr Alex Peterken

Alex PeterkenAlex Peterken was appointed as Headmaster of Charterhouse in January 2018. Prior to moving to Charterhouse, Alex spent seven years as Headmaster of Cheltenham College. Alex served on the Board's Academic Committee for Humanities and English before being appointed as the Vice-Chairman representing HMC.

Vice Chairman: Mrs Helen Skrine

Helen SkrineHelen Skrine is Headmistress at Belmont Preparatory School, an IAPS co-educational day and boarding school. Helen began her career at Wrekin College (HMC) teaching Music to A level and Latin and English to GCSE plus working in a senior boarding house for 13-18 year old girls. A move south to Greenacre School for Girls (GSA) in Surrey and then into prep school education at Chinthurst School (IAPS) as Head of the Middle School, followed by Deputy Head at Highfield School, Liphook until 2006 when she took up her current Headship. Helen has been a governor in three independent schools and served as Vice Chairman of IAPS until August 2016.

Other Board members

Name School Association Subject/role Committee
Mr Richard Biggs King’s College, Taunton HMC Chair of Mathematics and Science Committee Education
Miss Antonia Beary Mayfield School GSA GSA Treasurer Finance
Mr Richard Flower   IAPS Finance & Operations Director, IAPS Finance
Mr Stephen Holliday Queen Elizabeth’s Hospital HMC HMC Treasurer Finance
Mr James Savile Highfield Prep School IAPS Chair of Languages and Classics Committee Education

In attendance at Board and Committee meetings

Name School Association Role
Mrs Kate Allen     ISEB Chief Administrator

In attendance at Education Committee meetings

Name School Association Role
Mr Mark Brotherton   IAPS Director of Education
Mr Martin Collier Haileybury HMC Education Committee
Mrs Gill Cork     ISEB Deputy Chief Administrator
TBA   GSA Education Committee

Members of Academic Committees advising the Board

(Further members to be confirmed)

Name School Association Role
Mr Patrick Atkinson Beechwood Park School IAPS Science
Mrs Claire Bolton St Mary's Calne GSA Languages
Mr Ben Cooper Uppingham School HMC Religious Studies
Mr Andrew Farquhar Hazlegrove Preparatory School IAPS Geography
Mr Adam King Thorngrove School IAPS English
Dr Hilary Laver Cheltenham Ladies' College GSA Science
Dr Sally Legg St Alban's High School for Girls HMC Science
Mrs Gill Little Queen Anne’s School GSA Geography
Mr James Rothwell St Mary's Calne HMC Classics
TBA   HMC Geography
Mr Vivian Thomas Arnold House School IAPS Mathematics
Mr John Towers Homefield Preparatory School IAPS History